December Reflections

As part of my 2015 resolutions, I post my status each month to keep myself accountable for the goals I set for myself!

I am so happy to have the past year to reflect on. Some goals I achieved. Some I did not, but that is okay. It is all a step in progress and something I will continue to work on in the new year. I highly recommend setting these goals for yourself and checking in each month. It really has helped me to be accountable and achieve more than I would have otherwise.

Now, on to my goals.

1. Design 2015 budget goals with husband to reflect past spending and current saving goals.

My goal for December was to stick to our holiday budget and hopefully even come out a little under. We did very well! We came under our gift budget (by $3.61!) and managed to be significantly below budget on all other holiday related expenses such as hosting parties, holiday cards and traveling. Wahoo!

2. Go to the gym (or workout at home) a minimum of four days a week.

No. My sweetie DID get me a fitbit for Christmas, though, and that has made me feel much better.My first day wearing it, it was a very rainy day, so we just hung out at home. That all being said, at the end of the day, I had walked an estimated 2.6 miles and burned over 1900 calories! I do not have a large house by any means, just a VERY active toddler.

3. Reduce my PR of a 9 min mile pace to an 8 minute mile.

I completed a 7:57 mile in April. This goal is complete!

4. Try one new recipe a week and blog about it.

I put this on the back burner. It just became too busy to keep up!

5. I want to continue nursing Cupcake through 2015, unless she chooses to wean earlier.

CHECK! I did night wean her earlier in the month and it was such a good decision. I have been sleeping better, which makes a much happier mommy!

6. Visit my grandma every week before our move. Call her every week after we move.

For the holidays, we went back north and were able to see her again. Yay!

7. Text/call/email a different friend every day to keep communication open.

Check!

8. I will cut my monthly consumption of soda.

I had one can of Coca-Cola. After months of a strong aversion, it tasted good! However, I barely could drink the whole can and my few sips satisfied my desire for soda for quite some time.

9. Subscribe to FlyLady Emails. Complete tasks to maintain clean and decluttered home.

My goal for December was to manage the holiday craziness and keep the house in order for the many events we have. Check! The house managed to stay relatively clean throughout the holiday.

10. Reduce time spent watching TV

My goal for December was to start researching activities for the cold winter months so we do not rely on TV once winter hits! I found a great resource online that I will be implementing in the new year. It is essentially a homeschool preschool, and right up my alley. It gives me a chance to be more intentional in my time with Cupcake and provides plenty of great activity suggestions. I cannot wait to get started!

11. Post progress each month on the above goals.

CHECK!

Leave a Reply

