Elimination Diet Day 1

And so it begins…

I woke up this morning, ready to go.

Breakfast before…

Oatmeal with a scoop of peanut butter and cinnamon. Half a cup of coffee with soy milk and sugar. Water with lemon.

Breakfast now…

Homemade Cream of Rice (recipe to come!). Grapes. Water.

Breakfast was easy. I’m used to oatmeal, so cream of rice was not a huge departure. In the days leading up to the diet, I knew I had to learn to make some yummy cream of rice, so that’s what I did! I find it much harder to get in my water without the lemon in it. I suppose I could try putting berries in it? Or apple slices overnight to infuse it with flavor? Hmm.. Without my peanut butter and coffee, I definitely felt hungrier earlier than I usually do, which lead to SNACK TIME!

Morning snack before…

Share whatever Cupcake is having- graham crackers, animal crackers, veggie straws. More water with lemon.

Morning snack now…

Apple. Water.

I  know that I snack whenever I am bored, so thankfully we had a fun morning outing. Cupcake and I met up with friends and went to a local library with a giant playroom. That helped distract me enough until the ride home. I was so hungry! I got a little grumpy when Cupcake wanted to nurse before lunch because this mama wanted to eat. I also made the foolish mistake of not prepping any protein last night, so thankfully we had stocked up on some smoked salmon. Yum!

Lunch before…

Typically leftovers from the night before or a sandwich. Other half a cup of coffee with soy milk and sugar.

Lunch now…

Smoked salmon over a big salad (no tomatoes or peppers). Water.

I put Cupcake down for a nap and sat down at my computer. Nap time is usually the time I do laundry, clean the house, blog, work my online job and…snack. I love a good afternoon snack. I started getting really cranky as I opened the fridge and started the mental list of no’s.

That delicious looking cheese stick that is for Cupcake? No. The empty space where my beloved peanut butter used to sit? No.  The leftover deli meat that my husband is using for sandwiches for a few more days until he joins me on this torture plan? No.

But then I gave myself a mental pat on the back because most of the other temptations were gone. What I had to begrudgingly admit was that I mostly saw yes’s. Grapes? Yes. Apples? Yes. Leftover Cream of Rice? Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes.

So I reached for an apple and some baby carrots and settled back down. I also drank a ton of water, hoping to fill me up. I certainly took care of my physical hunger. My emotional hunger was not satisfied. I moved my laptop from its normal place within eyesight of the kitchen to the basement and did the rest of my work there. Cupcake woke up ready and raring to go! We ran around the house and colored and read. She even helped me while I prepped the butternut squash for an amazing new soup recipe!  

PM Snack before…

Annie’s Cheddar Bunnies (delicious!), Teddy Grahams, Cheese Sticks, Yogurt- not all of these at once!

PM Snack now…

Apple. Water.

My husband is working nights this week, so he joined us for an early dinner before he had to head off to work.

Dinner before…

Typically protein (beef, pork, tofu, or chicken), grain (typically pasta or rice) and a side vegetable

Dinner tonight…

Rosemary chicken and butternut squash soup (recipes soon!). Water.

This was the easiest meal of the day! It was pretty typical for us. We usually include tomatoes and peppers in most recipes, so that was a little odd, but nothing that couldn’t be worked around!

I was feeling great! Hubby went off to work. I gave Cupcake her bath and put her to bed. I was on a roll!

But then I was alone. No one would know if I snuck some of Cupcake’s snacks. I could open up the peanut butter jar that I know is hidden somewhere in that pantry and just have the tiniest little bite. But then I realized that if I did that, I was just making it harder on myself. I would have to start over. It would take longer to get all of the crap out of my body. It was not worth it. I mean, maybe it’d be a little worth it in the moment, but it wouldn’t be worth it in the big scheme of things. Instead I settled for an approved dessert.

Nighttime Snack before…

PEANUT BUTTER, chocolate, ice cream, popcorn

Nighttime Snack now…

Leftover Cream of Rice with vanilla, cinnamon and chopped apples. Roobios tea.

I am not even kidding. I think I liked my dessert better than usual! It was so good! I also think I should probably take out stock in rice because I will be going through it like a crazy person! I am so full and that dessert was definitely satisfying. 

So, Day 1 is done. Food wise it wasn’t toodifficult, in retrospect. It definitely is more of an emotional challenge than I expected. I love my food! I had been warned that it could get worse before it gets better, so my current problems include acne, minor headache (probably due to lack of caffeine and weather changes), bloating, fatigue,  and hair falling out (could just be postpartum hormones since Cupcake has cut back on nursing lately). Hopefully these will start to lessen soon!

I won’t be posting every day with what I eat, but will check in soon with updates on how it’s going!

Talk to you soon!

Lindsay

4 thoughts on “Elimination Diet Day 1

  1. Great job on Day 1! A lot of it is a mental battle, and hard emotionally. We’re so used to turning to food and tasty food at that, that cutting back or replacing those foods is hard. If you don’t mind me asking, what are you doing an elimination diet for? Just weight loss/improving health or allergy reasons?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi! I don’t mind at all. I am doing it for improving health and potential intolerance issues. I suffer from migraines and this was suggested to me by many doctors over the years to help identify my triggers. I’ve just been too stubborn in the past to try it! Thanks so much for stopping by.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Elimination Diet Results: Week 1 | the joy of momming

Leave a Reply

