So What Can You Eat?

If you have ever heard of a total elimination diet (TED) before, you know they can be very restrictive. Reading the long list of items you cannot eat leads to a very important question- so what can you eat?

The answer is surprisingly a lot! Again, the TED that I am going on is under medical supervision. This is not a weight loss plan and I am not reducing my overall calories. They are just being altered. Changed. Transmogrified (I love that word).

Now before I show you what I can eat, remember that I am not going this alone. These are the foods that *I* have been told I can eat. There are certainly more limited TEDs out there, but this is the one I was given. I have more range with my meat category than some are given based on a variety of reasons. If I have no changes in my symptoms by the end of the month, some of the following items may be further restricted, but based on current evidence I am allowed all of the following:

Meat- Chicken, Turkey, Lamb and Fish (not shellfish).

Carbohydrates- Quinoa, Rice and Sweet Potatoes

Vegetables- All except for tomatoes, eggplant, peppers and corn

Fruit- All except for bananas, strawberries and citrus

Beverages- Water and herbal teas

This may not seem like a lot. Admittedly, at first I was terrified. But then I started reviewing some of my favorite recipes and realized I could make this work.

Noodles in my favorite Chicken Noodle Soup could be substituted with rice. I could make sweet potato fries with turkey burgers for our cookouts. Baked apples with cinnamon are one of my favorite autumn treats that I can continue to eat. Plus, the goal is not to eat only these foods for the rest of forever. Quite the contrary, the goal is to be able to add in most foods back to my diet! I just want to ensure that what I choose to add back in really works for my system.

Since my husband will be joining in on this with me for moral support (and because I cook most/all meals), it will be interesting when we get to the challenge phase to find out which foods don’t work for his system either! There are bound to be quite a bit of differences, but with that knowledge, I can better prepare meals for us as a family in the future.

2 thoughts on “So What Can You Eat?

Leave a Reply

