July Reflections

As part of my 2015 resolutions, I post my status each month to keep myself accountable for the goals I set for myself!

1. Design 2015 budget goals with husband to reflect past spending and current saving goals.

My goal for July was to reset our budget given the fact that my sweet hubby is now officially a resident! There is something to be said for earning a paycheck ;). I want to change our budget limitations and figures to reflect this change! I spent quite a bit of time reflecting on our spending habits this month and what we could do differently. When I take an average of what we spent on food the first six months of the year and compare it to this month- we cut our overall spending on food by almost 25%! It took a lot of hard work, but I imagine we’ll be able to cut it down even further as I learn new recipes that are more budget conscious. If you want to know more, look at an upcoming post on how we are making this work!

My goal for August is to evaluate our car situation. We are a two car family and most likely need to stay that way for the time being. We own one of our cars (mine!) and lease the other. Luckily, the lease is ending this month. So, we will be in the market for a new-to-us car for my husband. I would like us to figure out what we can afford at this point in time and find a reasonable option for us.
2. Go to the gym (or workout at home) a minimum of four days a week.

Since we moved, I no longer have my gym membership and was finding it very difficult to keep up with this goal. I decided to make my July goal a step back and try to workout at least two days a week. I was able to achieve this on two of the weeks! I found that if I went first thing in the morning, I was able to complete my goal. If I tried to wait until the afternoon, it was either insanely hot or we had afternoon thunderstorms.

For August, my goal will be to work out a total of 12 times (or an average of three times a week). I think making a monthly goal will allow me more flexibility to plan around weather or illness.

3. Reduce my PR of a 9 min mile pace to an 8 minute mile.

I completed a 7:57 mile in April. This goal is complete!
4. Try one new recipe a week and blog about it.

SO MANY NEW RECIPES!

Easy Kale Chips

Homemade French Bread

The Best Split Pea and Black Bean Soup

Homemade Rolls

Homemade Hummus

Hot Cocoa Brownie in a Mug 

Sausage and Peppers Pasta

5. I want to continue nursing Cupcake through 2015, unless she chooses to wean earlier.

Check! I notice that she is definitely nursing less than she used to! I think we are still a big step away from weaning, but there have been changes. She still loves to nurse to sleep for bed and nap, often wakes once per night to feed, and LOVES nursing when she first gets up. During the daytime, however, she will go hours between nursing and might only nurse for a minute or two. She’s becoming such a big girl!

6. Visit my grandma every week before our move. Call her every week after we move.

I missed two phone calls, but I get to see her in TWO DAYS!!!!! I am SO SO excited!

7. Text/call/email a different friend every day to keep communication open.

Check!

8. I will cut my monthly consumption of soda.

My goal for July was to have no more than nine 8-ounce servings. I had….ZERO servings! For the entire first half of the month, I did not even have an interest in soda. Toward the end of the month I had a craving that I may indulge when we take our road trip to CT this weekend.

My goal for August is to have no more than eight 8-ounce servings.

9. Subscribe to FlyLady Emails. Complete tasks to maintain clean and decluttered home.

My goal for July was to reorganize our storage in the basement. When we moved we put all of Cupcake’s old clothes in bins. I also received a ton of hand me downs from my niece. When we moved, it got all put in a closet. On July 1st, I pulled out every bin and started over. Everything is perfectly in order now!

My goal for August is to organize our pantry so that I can ensure we are using the oldest food items first. This will doubly help, because it will encourage me to find ways to use what we currently have in the pantry to create new recipes.

10. Reduce time spent watching TV

My goal for July was to limit my TV to the following items:

  • News (no more than 30 minutes a day)
  • Sesame Street or Mickey Mouse Clubhouse (an episode if its a rainy day for Cupcake)
  • No more than two movies

I did quite well overall, but we hit a rough patch when Cupcake came down with Lyme and Hand, Foot & Mouth in the same week. At that point, my TV limits went out the window as I tried to survive! I have also found that it rains most days here lately, so I will want to define better how much TV I am allowing.

We do not have any TVs upstairs in our house and I found a new problem area for myself. Since I have started working out again to accomplish goal # 2, I’ve had to shower many mornings while Cupcake is awake. I have tried bringing toys and books into our bedroom to distract her while I shower, but she ends up crying the whole time. The one thing that does work? Putting on a youtube video I found that sings nursery rhymes. I believe I will continue to allow this a potentially daily additional “TV” time for Cupcake so that I can shower!

My goal for August is to continue with my July goals and only allow Cupcake a maximum of three TV shows (not counting the shower-time screen time) a week. This excludes TV if we get into a major illness situation like we had in July. Fingers crossed for a healthy baby!

11. Post progress each month on the above goals.

Check!

Leave a Reply

