The Best Split Pea and Black Bean Soup

Ever make a really foolish mistake? Yea…well this is embarrassing.

I decided to attempt to make my own french bread this morning when I awoke to rainy skies.  In my head, a good crusty french bread pairs perfectly with soup. So, I was excited to find this recipe for a homemade lentil soup that used ingredients I already had in the house. I have been trying really hard to been more aware of the costs associated with different recipes that I make for my family. We have been cutting back on our expenses and I have found we spend entirely way too much on our proteins. We love meat! I am looking forward to the challenge of finding satisfying vegetarian meals that fill us up, while still are healthy and yummy. This soup recipe was perfect.

I dug into my pantry and pulled out all of the beans. I had a package of lentils that I had never used and figured now was a good time to try! I love a thick soup, so I figured it would be perfect. I chopped my onions and threw in some baby carrots. I was on a roll. I set my beloved crockpot to high for six hours and went about my day.

It smelled WONDERFUL. Weirdly, the soup did not seem to be thickening up at all, but I figured that it was okay. I knew the magic would occur eventually. I was happily coloring with Cupcake when I had a strange thought. I ran over to my crockpot and my very watery soup. Five hours and 54 minutes had passed. I lifted the lid and all of a sudden it hit me-

I USED SPLIT PEAS. I didn’t use lentils.

People.

I promise I can read. I used to teach elementary school! It wasn’t even that I grabbed the wrong bag. For the last YEAR, I have had a bag of lentils in my pantry. The lentils were never used at our old house. They made the trip to our new house. The lentils were never lentils at all!

This is when I started to panic a little. My hubby does not love split pea soup. I don’t like it AT ALL. I also made it following a recipe for lentil soup. I had a watery soup and I had no clue what to do. I ran to my pantry and started scouring the shelves. Dinner was now supposed to be in five minutes. This was the one night we really had to eat at a specific time. I had my first ever self-made loaf of bread for this meal. I was crushed.

Four minutes to dinner. I can’t find anything. We do not eat potatoes. I don’t want a creamy soup, so milk is out. The amount of flour I would need at this point would ruin the soup. Ugh.

Three minutes to dinner. Cupcake decides she reallllllllllllllllly needs her sippy cup (which is already half-full) filled to the top. Water, Mommy. Water. Ugh.

Two minutes to dinner. Sippy cup crisis averted, I return to my pantry. And that’s when I see the forlorn box of potato flakes I bought to make potato pancakes many moons ago and never used. I rip it open and pour a bunch in. It’s working! It’s working! It’s also weirdly clumpy! And oh no! That doesn’t look pretty.

One minute to dinner. Hubby puts Cupcake in her high chair and gets her dinner ready (she has been on a kick of only wanting carrots and “petz” (pretzels) with hummus for dinner). I pull out the hand-mixer. Whirrrrrr. 

I tentatively ladled the soup (now a thick-almost chili consistency-like soup) into the bowl. I sit down to the table. We say Grace. I pick up a spoon and…

People. It was good. It was so good that both my DH and I had two bowls. Cupcake ate a whole bunch of mine, too!

Ingredients
1 lb. bag dry split peas
1 can black beans
1 medium onion, chopped
1 c baby carrots
1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes
1 T jarred minced garlic
1 T cumin
2 t chili powder
1/2 t dried parsley
5 cups HOT water

1/4-1/2 c dried potato flakes *Added at end*

Directions 
1. Rinse peas and black beans. Discard any small pebbles or bad beans. Add all ingredients (except potato flakes) to crockpot

2. Cover, and cook on HIGH for 6 hours.

3. Remove the lid, and add the dried potato flakes. Use a hand mixer on medium for approx. two minutes, or until desired consistency is reached.

Have you ever had a happy recipe accident? Let me know about it in the comments section!

One thought on “The Best Split Pea and Black Bean Soup

  1. Pingback: July Reflections | the joy of momming

Leave a Reply

