Easy Kale Chips

I am absolutely in love with this summer! This is now my second summer as a SAHM, and to be perfectly honest, I did not love last summer at all. We were in a location where all of our friends worked during the day, and I felt very alone! Cupcake could not do a whole lot, either, so it was all very quiet.  As a former elementary school teacher, quiet is not a word I tend to love too much. It feels foreign. Strange. Lonely.

And so, I am just loving my summer of 2015 with all of my heart! Every day, Cupcake and I go out and about. We have met so many new people in our new hometown. Things were going along swimmingly, until a park play date was canceled due to rain.

IMG_4968

I usually wouldn’t let this stop me from finding an alternative, but I took one look at Cupcake and I thought: hmm, we could be due for some quiet. 

You see, my little Pooh Bear loves the hustle and bustle as much as I do! She is very social and pretty much in a constant stage of blur. I love it! However, I also want my daughter to be able to appreciate the slower moments in life. So, we decided to hang in together. We colored and read books nearly all day. When it came time for snack, I knew just what we had to make: kale chips!

Despite my Cupcake’s sweet moniker, she actually has not developed much of a sweet tooth yet. Both her father and I love sweets, so it is surprising! I should have expected this because one of my weirdest “cravings” when pregnant was that I didn’t crave sweets at all. I remember at one dinner with my in-laws at Chili’s, it came time for everyone to order dessert. I asked for an order of chips and salsa. So, it really should not surprise me that Cupcake has no desire for sweets.

This recipe is for my easiest kale chips EVER. So easy and they come out perfectly!

Ingredients 

Kale Chips

Olive Oil

Garlic Powder

Salt, if desired

Directions 

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees

IMG_4969

2. Put small amount of olive oil on paper towel and spread over cookie sheet.  IMG_4970 IMG_4971

3. Cover cookie sheet with kale. We used baby kale here because it’s what I had on hand, but use any kale that you have. Make sure to remove the stems as those are pretty bitter.

IMG_4973 IMG_4975

4. Sprinkle garlic powder (and salt) evenly over kale

IMG_4977

5. TURN OVEN OFF

IMG_4981

Seriously, turn it off.

IMG_4979

6. Cook kale chips in (now turned-off) oven until crispy, but not burned (ours took about 10 minutes).
IMG_5003 IMG_50057. Eat the deliciousness!

IMG_5007 IMG_5010 IMG_5013 IMG_5017 IMG_5025We hope you love it as much as Cupcake does!

2 thoughts on “Easy Kale Chips

  1. Pingback: Sausage and Peppers Pasta | the joy of momming

  2. Pingback: July Reflections | the joy of momming

Leave a Reply

