Some other beginning’s end…

Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end. -“Closing Time” Semisonic

Leaving our first home was very bittersweet for me. We had lived there for four years and so much had changed in our lives. 

When Chris and I decided to move in together, my parents were wonderful enough to let us move into my grandparents’ old house. It was the house my dad was raised in and it held so many fond memories for my whole family. Although my grandpa passed away before I was born and my grandma died when I was in sixth grade, that place always made me feel so connected to them. 

Moving into that home with the man of my dreams was amazing. We had not been dating long, but we already knew we would get married someday. Within three months of moving in together, we were engaged. That house saw us move from boyfriend and girlfriend, to engaged, to married. 

It was the home where we experienced medical school and my first years as a teacher. 

It was the home where we decided we were ready to be parents. It’s where I found out I was pregnant. It was the place we brought Cupcake home to. And in a flash, it was time to leave. 

And leaving is hard. 

Leaving is hard because it is not just four walls. This place holds four years of memories with my husband, but dates back to my grandparents. They were the original owners. That house is my family. 

But, a new beginning is ahead of us. So while I am saddened to leave our first home behind, there are so many joyous memories that it will always be part of our story. 

Leave a Reply

