Black Bean Brownies 

Since we will be moving in a short time, I have been trying to clean out our pantry. I have been saving a lot of money by not buying new groceries, but I have been missing baking quite a bit! When I looked at my pantry, all I saw was rows of beans. What on EARTH am I going to do with all those beans? 

I had heard that some crazies thought of the idea of turning black beans into brownies. I don’t know what possessed the first person to try this, but I had to know for myself. 

Let me warn you, if you are looking or the most delicious brownie recipe in the world, this is not it. However, it is a decent substitute for when you’re craving brownies while also trying to eat more healthy. The secret to this recipe is to make sure your beans are rinsed well and to not short-change the chocolate chips. This will make the difference between a brownie substitute and an odd chocolate bean salad. Trust me. 

Ingredients 

15 oz can drained and rinsed very well

2 T cocoa

1/2 c oats

1/4 t salt

1/3c maple syrup

1/4c coconut or veggie oil

2 t vanilla extract 

1/2 t baking soda

1/2c chocolate chips 

Directions 

Mix all ingredients (except chocolate chips) in food processor until smooth 

Add chips and stir

Pour batter in greased 8×8 pan

Bake at 350 for 15-18 minutes 

One thought on “Black Bean Brownies 

  1. Pingback: How to Eat Healthy 100% of the Time | the joy of momming

Leave a Reply

