Easter “Eve” Reflections 

The past month has been an absolute whirlwind with barely a second to breathe. Major change is coming for our little family and tonight is the first chance I’ve had to even take it all in! 

My husband received his medical residency assignment at an amazing program. I still cannot believe in one month he’ll officially be a doctor! I am so proud! However, this placement takes us six hours from our family and friends. I have lived in the same town my whole life, and I love it here! I went to the same high school my dad went to. We currently live in the house my grandparents used to own. And now we’re moving! 

Moving brings such excitement as I can’t wait to explore a new part of the country. It also brings nerves as my hubby will be working an insane schedule and I’ll need a support network. Thankfully, one of my closest friends and her fiancée are also moving to the area, so I won’t be totally alone. But, still, I am afraid. 

So it seems apropos that the night before Easter, we get the news that we were approved for the place we really wanted to live. We had seen a few properties online, but when the opportunity for a viewing for this place came up, we hopped in the car after lunch and made our way down. I am so grateful that it all worked out. 

Easter has always been one of my favorite holidays as it signifies rebirth and hope. Even in the darkest moments of my life, hope and faith have gotten me through. Every stumbling block has been a cleverly disguised detour to a better destination. 

It is no mistake this news came through today. My hubby and I were slightly sad that this was our last big holiday as residents of our home state. However, this news is a reminder that we are always being looked out for and guided toward a better path. 

I am so excited to celebrate Easter this year with Cupcake. Here she is as just an itty bitty little thing.   

photo credit: Michelle Williams photography

 

Last Easter she was  just a few weeks old and my life was a blur. I stumbled to church with no makeup, no time to brush my hair, and whatever clothes were within reach. I was a mess. Here she is on Easter ( one of my only pictures from that day!) : 

 And yet, Easter is filled with such joy that everyone overlooked the bleary-eyed parents and graciously focused on our little cherub instead. I sadly don’t think I even remembered to send the Easter Bunny a birth announcement as Cupcake had no Easter basket. I felt like a major failure there, but I knew at church I’d be home. But this year, she will be celebrating with a big basket since the Easter Bunny felt so bad! 

More importantly, the day of joy and hope stands before us to show us that we are loved and cared for. No matter which path you walk, know you are loved. There is hope. Whatever troubles you have can be lifted up and you will be provided for! 

Happy Easter! Hallelujah, hallelujah! 

Leave a Reply

