Pancake Cake 

A few weeks ago I wrote about the dreaded “V” word and how it had been making the rounds at our household. Vegan recipes have been a life-saver as we’ve dealt with Cupcake and me needing to avoid all dairy. There have been numerous occasions where we have made a vegan recipe and added meat to satisfy our omnivore family. My darling Cupcake is nearly one year old. We have been given the ok to trial her on some forms of dairy and yogurt has gone well. Since I am still nursing Cupcake, I am selfishly excited about the prospect of me being able to have dairy again. I am excited and hopeful that she will have outgrown her issues!  In the meantime, we have this cake that we affectionately call “Pancake Cake.”

A typical evening in the Momming Household looks like this:

I make dinner. Family eats. Dad bathes Cupcake and gets her ready for bed while I tidy up and prep Dad’s lunch for tomorrow. I meet them upstairs for a story or two. Daddy heads back downstairs to do the dishes while I nurse Cupcake to sleep. I join my hubby for an hour or two to hang out/watch tv/talk before bed. This routine works great for us.

Tonight, my hubby and I texted back and forth while I nursed that we’d like to bake a treat tonight once she went down for the night. By we, I mean I bake and he keeps me company. I was excited. Usually she nurses for 20 minutes, so I told him to preheat the oven so it’d be ready for me once she was done.

Cupcake must be headed into a growth spurt because she finally nodded off after 45 long minutes of nursing. She slightly roused as I went to put her in her crib. Usually she just wants an extra snuggle, but not tonight! “Me-me! Me-me!” she wailed. Now me-me is her term for nursing and all I could think was, what?!?! You are still hungry after a full dinner and a huge nursing sesh? Silly baby. You must be in the middle of a dream or something. So I tried snuggling her, but her me-me’s became louder and she was lifting up my shirt. I guess she was serious!

With only about an hour and a half until typical bedtime for Mommy and Daddy, I knew I had to encourage our baking along. I texted my hubby to take out a large bowl. I asked him to put in 1.5 cups of flour and 1 c of sugar just to, ya know, get it started. Cupcake was still nursing as if I never feed her, so I texted him the next ingredients. And the next. And the next. Before I knew it, he had made the whole darn thing!

Then, I got this:

He’s crazy. 

 Finally, after an HOUR AND A HALF- Cupcake stopped nursing. I stumbled downstairs (nursing an 11 month old for that long is no joke) and guzzled some water. Thankfully, I had a delightful cake to recover with! 

Oh, but wait, the oven decided to break (cue screams from horror movie). My hubby was so bummed after all of his hard work on his first ever cake. I couldn’t let that happen, so I poured the batter into two mugs, popped them in the microwave and voila! Cake in a cup! We topped it with a dollop of vanilla frosting. Amazing! 



Ingredients

  • 1.5 c flour
  • 1 c sugar
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt 
  • 1/3 c unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 t vanilla extract 
  • 1 T apple cider vinegar
  • 1 c water

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking soda and salt. 
  3. Make three wells. Put the applesauce in one, vanilla in another and vinegar in the last. 
  4. Pour the water over the entire mixture
  5. Stir until mixed well
  6. Pour batter into greased 8×8 pan and bake 30-40 minutes 

Alternative Directions  

For cake in a mug, follow directions 2-5 as listed above. Pour batter into mug, leaving room for expansion (I filled about 2/3 of the mug). Bake for 1-2 minutes. Best served warm! Frosting melts on it, but it’s delicious. You can also top with hot fudge, chocolate chips, or maple syrup! 

Let me know what you think of this cake! Did you go the traditional route or did you make it in a mug? Leave a comment below! 

Leave a Reply

