February Resolution Update

As part of my 2015 resolutions, I post my status each month to keep myself accountable for the goals I set for myself!

1. Design 2015 budget goals with husband to reflect past spending and current saving goals.

This month we did pretty well! We were each given a weekly allowance that we could spend freely. This money was used for eating out, grabbing a treat or other incidentals. We were able to stick within our limits and we both found it easy to stick to.

One unexpected bonus was that it brought a certain sweetness to our dates now. Instead of it just being “our” money, we were able to treat one another. It felt more like we were dating, and I loved that. When my husband surprised me with a treat, I knew that he was using his own money for that and it somehow made it better. We will definitely continue to do this the rest of the year.

In March, we will be celebrating Cupcake’s first birthday! We will be sitting down and setting a budget to stick to. In the past, we’ve always used birthdays as an almost free-for-all. We celebrated without thinking about the budget or our constraints. It was never really much of a problem since it was usually just a nice dinner out. Now that we have a little one, we need to plan birthday parties, and that can get a little expensive.

For March, we will create a budget-friendly party for Cupcake’s first birthday!

2. Go to the gym (or workout at home) a minimum of four days a week.

I was doing SO well, until I wasn’t. This month was horrible for me health-wise. I started the month with a concussion. I then developed a horrible cold at the same time as Cupcake. We both recovered for approximately A DAY before I came down with a horrible stomach bug, which Cupcake subsequently got. This month was rough.

The weather also did not help because on days where we weren’t all sick, it seemed to always be snowing or be sub-zero temperatures. I am very optimistic that once the more spring-like weather comes, this will be an achievable goal.

3. Reduce my PR of a 9 min mile pace to an 8 minute mile.

My February goal is to get below an 8:25. I was only able to “test” myself on this twice, due to all the reasons listed above. My fastest time mid-month was exactly an 8:25. Therefore, my goal is to again get below an 8:25.

4. Try one new recipe a week and blog about it.

Mexican Meatloaf
Baby Cookies
Easy and Clean Peanut Butter Chocolate

Cashew Curry 

5. I want to continue nursing Cupcake through 2015, unless she chooses to wean earlier.

Check! It was definitely a struggle through the stomach bug, but we did it!

6. Visit my grandma every week before our move. Call her every week after we move.

We did very well in the beginning of the month, but then we had to stay away due to illnesses. I hope we recover soon so that we can get back to our visits!

7. Text/call/email a different friend every day to keep communication open.

Check!

8. I will cut my monthly consumption of soda.

My February SMART goal will be to maintain my current goal of no more than four servings a week. My second goal will be that if I find myself wanting a soda, I will first make sure I drink 2 cups of water to ensure that I am not just thirsty.

For the whole month, I had a total of five servings of soda. I typically was good at remembering that I needed to drink my water first, but not always. As per the rules I set for myself, I am not counting the ginger ale I drank while I had the stomach bug. I was happy, however, to see that I drank much less of it than I typically would, and found myself preferring diluted fruit juices instead.

In March, my goal will be to drink no more than 3.5 servings of soda a week.

9. Subscribe to FlyLady Emails. Complete tasks to maintain clean and decluttered home.

Every week, except last. The stomach bug was the end of me!

10. Reduce time spent watching TV

My SMART goal for February was to go through all the shows I had set for the DVR and delete the ones that weren’t truly favorites. I reduced the total shows we program from 14 to 4.

My goal for March will be focused on my afternoon television. I love watching Ellen! I often see that 4 o’clock hour as my reward for the day. I put it on, I make dinner, and all is right. I would like to reduce the number of days I watch TV in the afternoon from five to three.

11. Post progress each month on the above goals.
A few days late, but check!

Leave a Reply

