Silk Cashew Milk Review

This week’s New Years Resolution Recipe is brought to you by Silk Cashew Milk. (I’m just being silly and am not affiliated with them in any way.)

IMG_3794So, darling Cupcake is still nursing, and therefore I am not having any dairy still. I saw a commercial for Silk’s new Cashew Milk. I have tried a ton of non-dairy milks in the past few months and have mostly stuck with Almond Milk. However, we recently purchased some Flax Milk on sale and both my husband and I LOVE it. We have been using it as the creamer in our coffee and couldn’t be happier. So when I saw that this new product was coming out, I got adventurous.

I rushed to the grocery store and purchased this product. I was SO excited. I poured myself a nice glass and was nothing but disappointed. It had an interesting flavor that didn’t really float my boat. My husband also did not like it. Thankfully, Silk has a super awesome policy. If you try one of their products and do not like it, simply contact them for a refund. I emailed them and within 24 hours, I received a reply indicating a refund was on the way. I couldn’t be happier!

But, I also had a big carton of cashew milk left. We are on a pretty tight budget these days, so I couldn’t let the whole thing go to waste. But, I couldn’t exactly pour myself a glass either. While I was visiting the Silk website to log my complaint, I noticed they had an intriguing recipe for Creamy Cashew Curry. I thought I’d give it a try (with a few Momming revisions, of course)!

Ingredients

1 T olive oil

1 small onion, chopped

1 t garlic powder

1/4 t ground ginger

1 T curry powder (I used 2 for our taste preference)

2 1/2 c Cashew Milk (or other milk of your choosing)

2 T cornstarch

Salt, to taste

Directions 

1. Saute onion in olive oil, garlic and ginger until tender (approx. 5 min)

IMG_3793

2. Add curry powder and cashew milk and let simmer for 5 minutes. Be careful to keep heat low, as cashew milk can scorch just like cow’s milk.

IMG_3797

3. Add cornstarch and mix well. Let simmer 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

IMG_3799

Results 

IMG_3803

We served ours over cooked vegetables, rice and chicken. The original recipe did not call for cornstarch and it was the consistency of broth. I prefer a thicker sauce for curry based recipes. Adjust the amount of cornstarch for your chosen thickness.

The taste also was slightly bland in the original recipe. As you can see in the second picture, I added a hearty dusting of curry and garlic powder to the finished meal. I also thought that there needs to be a decent amount of salt to bring out the curry flavor.

IMG_3805

Overall, this recipe sort of saved the cashew milk experience for me. I still have quite a bit left, so I will be looking into a few baking recipes to try and use up the remainder.

Bottom line, would I buy this product again? Probably not. Would I make this recipe again and substitute a different non-dairy milk? Definitely.

One thought on “Silk Cashew Milk Review

  1. Pingback: February Resolution Update | the joy of momming

Leave a Reply

