Momming at Home

Technically, I guess one would say that I am a stay at home mom. This term is usually given to a mom whose career revolves around the raising of her children and caring for her home. I do all of these things, but I always had a problem with the “stay at home” part of it. I feel like Cupcake and I were always out and about from the day we came home from the hospital.

And then winter hit. And I have become a stay at home mom. All of my momming is seeming to occur in the walls of my home. I have to admit that this part of the year always makes me stir-crazy. I actually do not mind winter, per-say. I just dislike being stuck in. And days like today definitely require a lot of in.

Cupcake took an awesome nap this morning, and so I started the shoveling.

IMG_3705 Glamorous, huh?

By the time she was awake, the driveway was completely covered again. It looked like I hadn’t been out there for the last 45 minutes clearing all that snow away. Sheesh.

Cupcake can’t really play in the snow for real, so I gave up any hope of a clean driveway and resigned myself to another at home day.

We played with her favorite toys and she even sat still long enough to let me put her hair in pigtails!

IMG_3687

But then I looked at the clock and it was only noon! Hours and hours until Daddy came home. I made myself a second cup of coffee and rearranged the kitchen table to another wall. Then I swept the floor. I tell ya, I sweep at least once a day, but now that Cupcake is learning to feed herself real food… Once a day is not enough! I realized the floor could really use a washing, but had no good ideas of how to do that without Cupcake being around.

So I decided if she was going to be with me, then she was going to help me! I pulled out her tub and attached the booster to make a water table on the kitchen floor.

IMG_3708

IMG_3706
(Note, I surrounded the tub with towels and took off her pjs to make the floor not slippery- but I took these blog-appropriate photos first! Please put safety first if you ever try this!!)

Although I went through about 10 towels that I kept changing so she could play safely and we were both soaked to the bone after, it was a blast!

What do you do to keep your little ones busy when you’re stuck inside for what seems like days and days? I need more suggestions!

3 thoughts on “Momming at Home

  1. What a great idea!!! I am so glad that we didn’t move to the cold country until mine were old enough to play in the snow…although this year we haven’t had much snow but a lot of cold and some days as much as I want to stay in and cuddle in front of the fireplace and watch movies I know that they need to get out so I bundle up all 3 and off they go to the backyard….10 minutes later they want hot chocolate. Takes me longer to get them dressed then the amount of time they are actually out there….needless to say I am ready for spring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

