Cookies for Cupcake!

Now that Cupcake is 10 months old, it is just oh-so-offensive to her if we give her “baby food”. If what she’s eating on her tray doesn’t look like what Mama and Dada have, baby girl definitely expresses her displeasure.

“Mamamamamama,” she says most urgently, as if I had committed the gravest of crimes. She gives me that look that says I’m a big girl. Share with me! And I melt because I was the pickiest eater in the world and I’ve managed to overcome that and help teach my daughter to be brave with her food.

I ate my first kale chip just a few months ago. I was scared. It was green. I had no idea how yummy they could be! But, “Mamamama,” echoed in my kitchen yesterday and Cupcake happily munched away on my homemade kale chips.

But, this isn’t a post about kale chips. It’s about cookies. I really love to bake eat cookies. And so when I heard the familiar “Mamamama”, I realized that Cupcake deserved a cookie, too.

I set off to create a baby-friendly cookie that was 1. Dairy-free (Cupcake has a sensitivity I’m hoping she outgrows soon!) 2. Yummy and 3. Healthy

I searched a few websites and couldn’t find exactly what I wanted. Cupcake can’t have bananas, so a ton of recipes were knocked out. I had a few leftover egg-yolks from my Mexican Meatloaf I made, so I decided to start with that as my base since most babies can have egg yolk. Cupcake also adores oatmeal and applesauce, so I played with that idea and started experimenting. The result?

IMG_3594

Happy baby! I started with small cookies, thinking they’d be more friendly. I quickly realized that this did not pass her “I’m a big girl” test, so I made the next batch normal size. She loved them!

IMG_3644

So, with Cupcake’s permission…

Applesauce-Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients
2 Egg Yolks
1/2 c quick-cooking oats
1/2 c unsweetened applesauce
1 t baking powder
Pinch salt

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Mix all ingredients in food processor
3. Bake on ungreased cookie sheet approx. 8 minutes, or until bottoms are golden brown

I thought these were kinda yummy, but you could definitely use naturally sweetened applesauce (or a bit of sugar) if you feel it’s necessary. Since making these the first time, I’ve replaced the applesauce with other fruit and veggie purées, and they’ve always turned out great!

As a side note, Cupcake hates the sound of the food processor. Look at these faces! Poor girl!

IMG_3685

Anyone else’s kids have cute things they are scared of? Share!

2 thoughts on “Cookies for Cupcake!

  1. Our Little Man and dog are afraid of the vacuum. They find strength in each other when I feel the need to clean the house. Haha

    Like

  2. Pingback: February Resolution Update | the joy of momming

Leave a Reply

