Mexican Meatloaf

As part of my New Years Resolution to try new recipes each week, let me present Mexican Meatloaf.

My beautiful grandmother made the best meatloaf in the whole world. It is a family favorite, but it uses sour cream. I have had to give up all dairy for Cupcake while I continue to nurse her, or until she hopefully outgrows her issues. So for the last six months I have not had meatloaf because I couldn’t bring myself to try another recipe.

But the universe brought us a huge snow storm today and all I wanted was meatloaf. I originally found this recipe and I thought I’d give it a try. It’s quite different from anything Grandma would make, that’s for sure! It has quite a kick, so I’ve affectionately called it “Mexican Meatloaf.”

Ingredients
1.3 lbs ground turkey
1 c quick oats
3 egg whites 1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp dried thyme
2 T brown mustard
2 tsp black pepper
2 tsp chipotle pepper spice
2 tbsp garlic powder
1 small onion (finely chopped)
3 celery stalks (finely chopped)

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 375
2. Mix all ingredients together
3. Form into meatloaf shape and put on cookie sheet lined with tinfoil

IMG_3637
4. Bake for 30-40 minutes

IMG_3635

This is how I kept Cupcake busy while my hands were messy with meatloaf mix. She LOVED watching Daddy shovel the snow!

This recipe was amazing! Again, it was definitely spicy. I think I’ll play with the combination of spices in the future (maybe use onion powder, Italian seasonings and rosemary instead of the cumin and chipotle). This will definitely become a permanent recipe in the Momming household!

IMG_3641

Let me know if you try it! Did you make any substitutions or did you have it spicy?

3 thoughts on “Mexican Meatloaf

  1. Pingback: Cookies for Cupcake! | the joy of momming

  2. Pingback: February Resolution Update | the joy of momming

Leave a Reply

