Breaded Pork Chops

Start the applause now… I made a recipe that doesn’t use a crockpot! I did! Me! And it was good! Say whaaaat?!?

No one, and I mean no one, loves a pork chop as much as Cupcake. She could munch on one all day long. So, we make them a lot. Which is great, ish. After you have pork chops prepared the same way over and over, even a yummy thing can seem boring. Since I made it my New Years Resolution to try new recipes, I did what any self-respecting woman in her late-20s would do. I turned to Pinterest.

And lo and behold, I found the perfect recipe! I wrote it down on a piece of paper and did not think two things about it. Until I realized I have no clue where I found this recipe originally. I hate not being able to give credit where credit is due, so just know-this isn’t really my recipe. Well, it wasn’t at first. You all know I never really follow a recipe as it’s stated, so this one is certainly momming-ed up!

Ingredients

6 boneless center-cut pork chops, with fat trimmed

2 T spicy brown mustard

1/2 c breadcrumbs

1 t dried thyme

1 t dried parsley

pinch salt

pinch pepper

1 T olive oil

Directions

1. Heat oven to 450 degrees

2. Mix breadcrumbs and spices. Set aside.

3. Rub mustard evenly over pork chops. Coat chops with breadcrumbs mixture.

4. Heat oven-safe skillet to med-high. Add oil. Cook chops for 2 minutes.

5. Turn over and put in oven for 8 minutes.

IMG_3552             IMG_3550                 IMG_3554

Note

My Farberware non-stick skillets are not safe to 450 degrees. So, I cooked the chops for 2 minutes on the stove and then transferred to a pan for 10 minutes.

IMG_3557

That’s a pretty looking pork chop, am I right?

It tasted every bit as good as it looked. The one “downside” was that we only had breadcrumbs in our house from our days of not-so-clean eating. I’d really like to try this recipe again with a cleaner crumb to make it even better!

Do you have any good suggestions for a clean breadcrumb that works well in savory dishes? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Breaded Pork Chops

  1. Pingback: January Resolution Update | the joy of momming

  2. Pingback: Homemade Bread Crumbs | the joy of momming

Leave a Reply

