Crockpot Orange Chicken

Or maybe…
Why my Chicken Turned Into a Burger

Or even…
Stupid New Year’s Resolution

I made a New Year’s Resolution to try a new recipe each week and blog about it.

Let me start by saying that I don’t know if I have ever in my life ordered orange chicken off a menu. I have no idea what sparked the idea to make this meal and I was sincerely prepared to not even enjoy it much. But, go big or go home, right? Might as well stretch my comfort-zone a little.

It’s not like I stretched it that far – this is a crockpot recipe after all!

So today Cupcake did not want to nap. We managed a quick 15 minute nap this AM, though, which gave me just enough time to prep my masterpiece

2015/01/img_34511.jpg

For six beautiful hours, this sat and cooked. The house smelled like beautiful oranges. It was lovely! I was excited!

So dinner time rolled around and my hubby and I took our first bite. He smiled, but I know that smile. It meant he hated it.

But I hated it even more. Horrid. Tasted like orange, all-right. Way too orangey. Way too… Off.

Darling Cupcake loves oranges and makes the cutest little face when the sourness hits her. Since this was a super clean recipe and I was just going to throw it out, I gave her a tiny piece of chicken. And.she.loved.it!

That girl ate more of that meal than I think I’ve ever seen her eat before. She ate up all the chicken, baked orange slices and veggies that I put down. I couldn’t get it to her fast enough.

So while I fed Cupcake a meal that was no longer a waste, my sweetie got me a most delicious burger from a local restaurant. So, even though this meal was technically a “fail,” it was a most glorious success as I now have a whole bunch of meals for Cupcake already prepared!

Anyone out there have a yummy recipe for orange chicken that is at least somewhat healthy?

Bueller?

6 thoughts on “Crockpot Orange Chicken

  1. OMG this happened to me the first and only time I have attempted to make crockpot terriyaki chicken. It was terrible lol. I don’t know if you have a Pinterest account, if not, I would start there for a good recipe. Definitely read the comments on the recipes you find on there too to make sure it’s good πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award | the joy of momming

  3. Pingback: Easy and Clean Crockpot Pork Tenderloin | the joy of momming

  4. Pingback: Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award - My Real Life Moments

  5. Pingback: January Resolution Update | the joy of momming

Leave a Reply

