Pork “Fried” Rice

As part of my New Year’s Resolutions, I am trying a new recipe each week and blogging about it.

I love me some pork fried rice. I mean I REALLY love it. However, there are several reasons why I am trying to not order my fav from our local restaurant.

  1. I’m trying to eat out less
  2. I’m trying to cook more
  3. I’m trying to save money
  4. Who doesn’t want to be able to whip up this deliciousness whenever they want?

Exactly.

This recipe is really super awesome for when you have leftover pork chops. Lately Cupcake has been on a chop-craze, so we’ve been making them a lot! I needed something new to try and make pork chops exciting again. This got a big two-thumbs up from the hubby!

Momming’s Pork “Fried” Rice

Ingredients:

  • 1 T oil
  • 1 lb. boneless pork chops, cooked and cubed
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 1/3 c low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 t garlic powder
  • 1/2 t ground ginger
  • 2 cups rice, uncooked (I used brown rice)
  • 2 cups frozen vegetables (I used an “Asian blend”)

Directions

1.IMG_3334 I baked my pork chops at 350 for 40ish minutes. All I did to prep was to lightly rub the chops with oil and a bit of salt and pepper. I also tented tin foil over the chops to keep them moist. I always leave the fat on while I cook to maintain the moisture and flavor. I trim it after cooking! If you prefer, you can prepare them in the pan during step 2. I just prefer to bake them first!

2. Add 1 T oil to pan over medium heat. Cube 1 lb. cooked pork chops and add to pan. Add in water, soy sauce and seasonings. Stir and bring to a boil.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b15/76046820/files/2015/01/img_3336.jpg          /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b15/76046820/files/2015/01/img_3338.jpg          /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b15/76046820/files/2015/01/img_3340.jpg

3. Stir in rice and frozen vegetables. Cover. Reduce heat to simmering for five minutes. Remove from heat and let stand for five minutes. Fluff with a fork and serve!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b15/76046820/files/2015/01/img_3342.jpg

Seriously, we loved this recipe! It was so easy. Again, I think this recipe is absolutely perfect for a night when you have leftover pork, or even chicken! All of our eggs were currently hard-boiled for Cupcake, so I didn’t have a chance to add an egg like I would have liked. Honestly, I didn’t even miss it! However, if you try it with an egg, let me know how it goes! I bet it would be delicious!

One thought on “Pork “Fried” Rice

  1. Pingback: January Resolution Update | the joy of momming

Leave a Reply

