Why My Wedding Wasn’t the Happiest Day of My Life

Today is my second anniversary.

IMG_3040

Two years ago, I walked down the aisle toward my soulmate and never knew such joy. It is such a cliche, but it was the happiest day of my life. I spent countless hours planning, organizing, Pinterest-ing. It all came together better than I ever could have imagined. And none of it really mattered.

How could one day where the professionals handled my hair and makeup compare to the love I felt when morning sickness besieged my pregnancy? How can one day that was so perfectly orchestrated compare to our teamwork when everything is going wrong? How can one day of elegant food compare to our Dunkin coffee car-dates when Cupcake would only sleep if we were driving? How can our first dance compare to watching my husband dance with our daughter in the kitchen, knowing that in a blink they’ll be dancing at her own wedding?

Our wedding was the happiest day of my life… but every day since then has just been infinitely better.

Leave a Reply

