Black Bean Brownies

Let me start off by saying I adore baking. I also love eating all the treats sharing the treats I bake! I am a strong proponent of enjoying honest to goodness sweets with not too many modifications. I am against “diet” food pumped with fake stuff. It doesn’t taste as good for me personally, and it certainly doesn’t help quell my cravings.

So, typically I make real brownies. However, my twin toddler nephews were coming for a visit and I wanted to bake something that was healthy, yummy, and made with whole foods!

The recipe requires a food processor. Mine is itty bitty, so I do it in halves, and it still takes me only about 10-15 minutes to prepare (depends on how many little hands want to get in on the action).

Ingredients:
15 oz can black beans, rinsed well and drained
1/2 c quick oatmeal
1/2 c maple syrup
1/4 c unsweetened applesauce
2 T cocoa powder
1/4 t salt
1/2 t baking powder
2 t vanilla extract
1/2 c semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Mix all ingredients (except chocolate chips) in bowl. Add to food processor and process until completely smooth. Return to bowl
3. Add chocolate chips and mix well
4. Smooth batter into 8×8 greased pan. Bake for approx. 15 minutes (until toothpick comes out clean).

For my two handsome toddlers, I premeasured all of my ingredients like we were in a cooking show. I just called them to the kitchen to dump all the ingredients together!

IMG_2922.JPG

Cupcake joined in, too!

IMG_2916.JPG
(Don’t let this picture fool you. Two seconds later, Cupcake crawled over and knocked over part of the maple syrup cup and then tried to lick the floor where it spilled. It’s cool.)

Verdict? A fudgey brownie with no bean taste! The boys ate them up quick. I can’t lie- I prefer a typical, bad for you, brownie. However, these are a great treat for little ones, those watching their weight, or those just trying to eat healthier!

Try it and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

