Finding Peace of Mind

Have you ever had a moment when you felt like the universe was sending you a message? Today I came across an article discussing indicators of student success through the post-secondary years. As I was reading through the article, I came across this interesting section:

A university study conducted on “peace of mind” sought to find the greatest factors that contributed to people’s stability. The top five they discovered were:

1. Refusing to live in the past.
2. The absence of suspicion, resentment and regret.
3. Not wasting time and energy fighting conditions you cannot change.
4. Refusing to indulge in self-pity.
5. Forcing yourself to get involved with a major goal in your current world.

With my husband in his last year of medical school, this upcoming year will be a huge one. We will find out his residency match, which could be in many different states. We will (potentially) need to move our little family away from our extended family here. This is all during our first year as parents, where I am also a new stay-at-home-mom.

By nature, I am a planner. I try and anticipate multiple outcomes so that I can remain flexible. I plan everything. Perhaps that’s what made me such a good teacher. I knew my end goal for every year, unit and lesson. I developed a plan quickly and effectively to reach my students. I also budgeted for breaks and unexpected situations so I was never fully caught off-guard.

Life is not always so plan-able.

Call it a coincidence, God, or randomness, this article really jumped at me. I read through each item to try and see how they applied. I realized that I am spending way too much time trying to plan for a change that I cannot plan for yet. It would be ridiculous to spend a whole day looking up real estate in every potential location when the decision is out of our hands. There will be plenty of time to research in March.

Number 5 on the list forcing yourself to get involved with a major goal in your current world . really stuck out to me. What major goal am I working on?

As a teacher, there was always a goal. An objective my students really need to learn. A particular student who was struggling with a concept. A new method I wanted to try. I realized I had no major goal I was working to accomplish, and that made me sad.

So I spent the next few hours thinking about what my major goal could be. There are many ways in which I could be a better mother and wife. However, I wanted to do something just for me. Maybe selfish, but I know I’m a better me when I have something that is just mine.

It hit me- My whole life I have been a very weak runner. I have run 5ks, but always slowly. Mile day was my least favorite of the whole school year. I hate running with others because I am so embarrassed. I have recently rejoined the gym and have been going most mornings. It hasn’t always been pretty, but I’ve started running again. I decided my new goal was to work towards improving my mile time. My ultimate goal is to run an 8-minute mile (my fastest I have ever run in the past). I have a hundred small goals between my current pace and that.

Even just setting up a plan gave me a sense of peace that I haven’t had in awhile. I don’t even know what lead me to that article, but I’m sure glad I found it.

What brings you peace of mind when you feel things are a bit unstable around you? Share below!

Leave a Reply

