Asian-inspired Beef

A few weeks ago, I wrote about my first pot roast I ever made. Since it was just my hubby and I eating it, we had a lot of leftovers. I should also mention my husband does not like pot roast. He played along nicely, but it’s just not a favorite. So, I froze what was left and allowed my brain some time to think about how to deliciously repurpose it.

Enter this Mongolian Beef and Broccoli recipe I found on Pinterest! If we could go to P.F. Changs every night, my husband would be in love! I wanted to use a flank steak, but we had leftover pot roast so I figured the worst that would happen is I could douse it in sauce and he would eat it.

You all know we tend to eat pretty cleanly around here. This recipe looks amazing, but definitely is high in sugar! I figured as part of our weekly cheat meal, I’d make this. Turns out with a few tweaks, it was actually pretty healthy! To avoid the recipe being too high in sodium, use low-sodium soy sauce.

Let me just say, this was a big hit! My husband barely spoke two words through all of dinner (if you knew him, he’s rarely at a loss for words). When he finished he asked me when we could have it again! Success!

Now as previously mentioned, this meal was an attempt to use up leftover pot roast. If I were starting from scratch, I’d follow the original recipe. Actually, that’s probably not totally true since I pretty much always alter recipes. Oh well! Here it goes:

Ingredients:
2 teaspoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 tablespoon minced garlic
½ cup soy sauce
½ cup water
2 teaspoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon corn starch
1 package frozen veggies
1 lb. cooked beef cut into strips (I used pot roast, but flank steak would probably be better!)

Directions:
1. Add all ingredients through brown sugar to medium frying pan. Mix and heat over medium-high heat.

IMG_2630.JPG

2. Bring to a boil. Add corn starch. Reduce heat to medium-low. Stir until sauce thickens.

IMG_2632.JPG

3. Add package of frozen veggies to pan. Stir until heated throughout, approx. 5 minutes

IMG_2633.JPG

4. Add beef to pan and stir until heated throughout. Serve over rice. Enjoy the deliciousness!

IMG_2635.JPG

For real- this will now be in permanent rotation at the Momming household!

Leave a Reply

