The Most Important Decision You Ever Made

My friend Matt posted this on his blog today about the most life-changing decision he ever made: to work at McDonalds. Matt is an accomplished teacher who helped from my career, in addition to being a wonderful author. His Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend may be one of my most favorite books ever. Seriously, go read his stuff!

Anyways, it got me thinking about what my moment would be.

It was deciding to go to UConn (go huskies!!!).

If you know me, you’d know that I don’t like a lot of attention and get embarrassed quite easily. However, on the day I moved in my freshman year, I saw a girl that I knew walking through the quad of her housing complex. I yelled out to her with all of my might. People definitely stared, but I didn’t care. I needed someone I knew!

She quickly became my best friend at college and I would never have survived without her! Reaching out to her lead me on the path towards my life.

Devra started dating someone she met in college. He went to high school with a guy named Ran, who had coincidentally been in my eighth grade English class before moving away.

At a summer party at Devra’s boyfriend’s house, Ran and I got to talk. I had gotten out of a serious relationship a few months earlier and was looking to start dating again. Ran had just started medical school and told me that he knew someone that would be great for me. I thought he was crazy and didn’t think much more of it.

Weeks later, Ran invited me out to a dinner with a group of friends. Little did I know, my future husband would be at that dinner. I sat across from him and, although there were 15 people there, all I really remember is talking to him.

By the time of our first kiss, we knew we were going to get married. We were engaged less than a year later. My life couldn’t be more wonderful and joyous because I married Chris, which gave us Cupcake.

So many decisions lead me to this beautiful life, but it all started with UConn and Devra!

IMG_2393.JPG

Leave a Reply

