My First Ever Pot Roast!

I usually am not a huge red meat fan, but lately I have been craving it! I have never even really been a huge fan of pot roast, but I came across this recipe on Pinterest and thought I’d try it out!

Ingredients:
Beef Roast ( I used a 3 lb one )
2/3 c applesauce
1 c water
Salt
Pepper
Garlic Powder
Paprika

Directions:
1. Place roast in crockpot upside down. Season liberally. Flip right-side up and repeat.
2. Top roast with applesauce
3. Pour 1 c water around roast (not on top)
4. Set crockpot on low 6-8 hours

Optional:
Add 2 cups baby carrots and 1 chopped medium onion in crockpot around roast

When I started this recipe, I did not have applesauce in the house. Then it hit me that I make applesauce for Cupcake all the time! So, I whipped out my BabyBullet and poof- homemade applesauce!

IMG_2316.JPG      IMG_2318.JPG

Mmm. It sure smells heavenly! Check back later to see how this baby turns out. Needless to say… I can’t wait to try it!

Edit: So here are the results!

IMG_2321.JPG

My husband hates pot roast and he even went back for seconds! The only thing I’d do differently is add a full cup of applesauce. You really cannot taste the apples at all (which I personally think was okay for beef), but it kept it moist! Two-thirds cup was fine, but it didn’t completely cover the whole roast.

We topped ours with some cooked onions and it was divine!

If you try this recipe, let me know how yours turns out!

One thought on “My First Ever Pot Roast!

  1. Pingback: Asian-inspired Beef | the joy of momming

Leave a Reply

