Easy Crockpot Chicken Fajitas!

As part of my October goals, I wanted to try new recipes and this one was a hit! My husband and I LOVE Mexican-inspired dishes and this one fit the bill.

What I love about this meal is it fits any diet! The crockpot recipe is Paleo, Clean and 21-day fix approved! Or, you can splurge and add in all sorts of sides if you prefer to eat differently. I love to make this when we have company coming over because it is oh so simple and I can secretly tell those on diets how it fits in. Can you tell I’m in love? I also REALLY love the fact that I’ve made this with any amount of chicken breast from 1-2.5 lbs and it all tastes divine. Seriously- fool proof!

Ingredients:
4 cups chopped onions and peppers (roughly 2 bell peppers and 1 medium onion)
1 c salsa (spiciness up to you!)
Chicken breast (1lb to 2.5 lb package)
3T lime juice
Seasonings
-we use a scoop of our favorite JD’s Salsa Mix (available at JDsalsa.com)
-alternatively you can use 1t of garlic powder, cumin and crushed red pepper, .5 t cayenne and .25 t salt

Directions:
1. Pour salsa into bottom of crockpot
2. Layer chicken breasts on bottom of crockpot
3. Pour lime juice over chicken
4. Sprinkle seasonings on top
5. Cover with chopped veggies
6. Cook on high 3-4 hours or low 7-8
7. When finished, chicken should easily shred using two forks!

When we make 1 lb of chicken, my hubby and I have plenty leftover for lunches the next day. I like to make more chicken so I can use it later in the week in enchiladas, or even chicken noodle soup!

We love our spicy foods, so if those don’t agree with you, alter the seasonings to fit your desires!

IMG_2303.JPG

Just as an FYI, JD’s Salsa Mix comes in mild or hot. We use it on EVERYTHING! We mix it into scrambled eggs and use this instead of heavily processed taco seasonings. It’s a perfect blend!

As a note: JD’s Salsa has no clue who I am and I get no kick-back for recommending them. (But hey, JD’s, if you want to send us stuff for free- we’d love you forever!). For real, it’s yummy.

I started this recipe this AM since my husband is running a half marathon in the rain today! Yuck! It sure will be nice to have a yummy lunch to come home to after we all get soaked.

Can I have your prayers that Cupcake doesn’t totally fall apart in this yucky weather?

Leave a Reply

