Homemade Tomato Sauce

Hi friends!

Well a few of you have emailed to ask me for my super secret tomato sauce recipe. After much thought, I have decided to share!

I hate to tell you, but you’ll see my Italian side come out in this recipe as there are NO real measurements for seasonings. I’m sorry. I started making it with the intent to measure it out, but I totally forgot. So, I give approximate measurements, but really the “secret” is that everything is just done to taste!

As a note, I used ShopRite’s organic tomato sauce because it was on sale recently. I prefer Trader Joe’s as ShopRite has added sugar in theirs, but here on Momming, organic is great when it’s financially feasible- and it was in this case. You don’t have to use organic. I definitely cannot always afford it, so do whatever works for your family. Also, my hubby hates chunky tomatoes, so I go for the cans labeled “tomato sauce” so that it is puréed. Feel free to use diced or stewed tomatoes if you like a little chunk to your sauce. Like I said, Italian cooking- it’s really up to you to make it your own!

Okay, let’s get down to it.IMG_2290.JPG

Prep Ahead of Time:
Cute apron
(Okay shameless opportunity to show off my new apron, but I’m in love!)

IIMG_2288.JPGngredients:
2 15 oz cans tomato sauce
1 T garlic powder
1 T Italian seasonings
1 t each: basil, oregano, onion powder and rosemary

Optional:
Chop some veggies and throw them in!

Directions: (so stupid easy!)
1. Put pot on stove on low heat.
2. Open cans. Add to pot.
3. Measure seasonings. Add to pot. Taste. It should taste just slightly less seasoned than you want as they develop while cooking. You can always add more, but don’t add too much in the beginning.
4. Cook until you decide it’s perfect! (See note below)

IMG_2283-0.JPG

IMG_2293.JPG

Why yes, our garlic powder is the size of my head. 🙂

Note:
This recipe tastes better the longer it cooks, but it requires no effort (save a random stir here and there). I tend to make this at least 2-4 hours before serving. It can be made and served right away, but the ratio of seasonings will need to be altered.

Hubby is running a half-marathon tomorrow, so he got a huge portion of pasta for his. I had mine over “zoodles” with meatballs. I can’t have dairy due to issues with Cupcake and breastfeeding (whomp whomp), but this is amazing with shredded cheese on top or fresh mozzarella!

IMG_2299.JPG

IMG_2300.JPG

Leave a Reply

