Lazy Stuffed Peppers Recipe

As it turns cooler in the northeast, I crave home cooked meals from my childhood.

My family was very atypical for the 90s, in that my dad stayed home with my younger sister and I, while my mom worked. My dad did almost all of the cooking (and he was awesome at it)! However, with a good Italian mama like my own, the kitchen was still hers. One of my favorite meals she would make for us every now and then was her delicious stuffed peppers. They were amazing and perfect for a blustery fall day. But, they took some time to make. And this mama doesn’t have a lot of time on her hands! So, I set out to find a way to make this recipe quicker and ended up with what is now my husband’s favorite thing I make.

Momming’s Lazy Stuffed Peppers

Serves 4 (big portions… People with smaller appetites could easily have this serve 6)

Ingredients:
4 bell peppers, any color, chopped
1 lb ground meat of your choice (I tend to use turkey)
2 c uncooked rice (or 1 large Success Rice bag)
1 c diced tomatoes
1 T Italian seasonings
1 t each ground onion and garlic
salt to taste

Optional:
Chopped onion (add to pan when you add peppers)

Directions:
1. Brown meat over medium-high meat until cooked thoroughly. Drain. While meat is browning, cook rice in according to package directions.

2. Using a large saucepan ( I usually just reuse the one from the rice), spray cooking spray all around bottom half and add peppers. Cook on medium heat approx. 5 minutes.

3. Add seasonings and diced tomatoes. Stir until heated throughout. Add cooked rice and browned meat to pan. Stir occasionally for about 5 minutes.

4. Fill your belly with yumminess!

(If you want to add additional toppings at end, some family favorites include shredded cheese, salsa, sour cream, or ketchup!)

IMG_2386.JPG

Leave a Reply

