Top Five Favorite Movies

As part of the October Blog Challenge, today I am supposed to write about my top five favorite movies. Anyone who knows me should know how hard this is! I love movies! One of my favorite ways to relax is watching an old favorite with a bowl of popcorn.

So, this took some deliberation. I’m glad the list was just your top five, because there are a few movies that truly I could watch over and over and never get bored of. If this had been a top ten list, it would have taken me says. So without further ado…

1. The Wizard of Oz

IMG_2224.PNG

I just adore this movie. It brings back so many good memories from childhood. I love singing along with the music and can recite nearly the whole movie from memory. I did multiple projects in school related to this movie, including a 15 minute video in which my friends and I recreated the scene where Dorothy lands in Oz. I was the camerawoman, the witch, and a munchkin. No biggie. My bachelorette party was Wizard of Oz themed, and it took every bit of restraint to not make Cupcake’s nursery follow suit.

2. Titanic

IMG_2225.PNG

This movie is long, but I love it. It’s so romantic and beautiful and everything my fifth trade heart thought love should be. All these years later, I’m still in love. I’ve watched this movie more times than I care to admit. My sister and I will frequently send each other random lines from the movie for no reason. I can’t get enough! Plus, um, Leonardo DiCaprio. Enough said.

3. Jurassic Park

IMG_2226.PNG

For real, I’ve seen it well over 100 times. I love the idea that “Nature always finds a way.” The T-Rex still totally scares me. I still have a love/hate relationship with the smugness of Ian. It’s one of those movies I never tire of, even if I know exactly what will happen next. Those velociraptors are brilliant! Plus the nerd in me likes the science behind it. Not that I want to see a real dinosaur anytime soon, but it’s still an interesting thought.

4. The Santa Clause

IMG_2228.PNG

I could watch this movie year round (and I do). Christmas is my favorite season and if you’re about to tell me that Christmas isn’t a season then you will never understand me. I adore Christmas. I love the music and definitely start rocking out to it in maybe August. I was having a rotten day last week, so I turned on my Christmas station on Pandora and danced around the house. I may also have made some Christmas cookies and eaten most of them. Shh.

The Santa Clause is so quintessentially Christmas for me. I love Tim Allen in this role. I love the magic of the North Pole that is depicted here. It’s perfection for me. When the 25 Day of Christmas starts on ABC Family, that’s the first movie I look for.

5. What Dreams May Come

IMG_2227.PNG

When Robin Williams died, I cried. I adored him as an actor and many of his movies are my favorites. This movie, however, really struck a cord with me during a dark place in my life.

If you haven’t seen it, his wife commits suicide and is stuck in purgatory. He is in heaven and cannot be with her. His journey to find her is the focus of the film.

Cinematically, the depictions of heaven are stunning. Robin Williams is brilliant as always. The plot line makes me cry every time. I adore this movie!

There are so many more I could have added, but these are the ones I know in and out. What are some of your favorites?

Leave a Reply

