The Joy of Momming

Let’s be serious, ok?

When I first found out I was pregnant, my husband and I decided I would stay at home from my teaching job for the first year of our little one’s life. During the autumn, I imagined apple picking and our first Halloween as a family. Every snowy day, I imagined baking cookies and cuddling under blankets together. As it turned to spring, I thought about enjoying the beaming sun on long walks.

In late March, Cupcake came into our world! She was healthy and perfect in every way.

IMG_0916.JPG

I was so ready to be a mom. What I wasn’t quite ready for was momming. Yea, you’ll learn quickly that I frequently make up words-you can blame my mom for that. Sometimes the English language is too limited, so I make words that better express what I mean. Momming is the perfect example.

Momming (v)- to mom.

For me, this means all the hugging, kissing, cuddling, boo-boo fixing, nursing, and diaper changing of motherhood. Since I stay at home, I also do all the meal planning, cooking, cleaning, laundry, grocery shopping, errand running, chores. [many working parents do all these things, it’s just how it breaks down in our world!]

So, I am momming. And it is a joy. Except for when it’s not. So join me for all the ups, downs, and everything in between.

Leave a Reply

